Mini Chicken Empanada

mini chicken empanada

Do you know what the first thing my children say when I pick them up from school? If you guess “I love you” or “thank you”, you are wrong. They most definitely will say, “I’m starving!” while rubbing their tummies and make that miserable look on their faces. Very dramatic! If there were ever an award for the best hungry looks, I think they will win it easily!

With that particular scene in mind, I decided to make some snacks, ready for the children when they get home from school. Something not too heavy to ruin their appetite for dinner, yet quite fulfilling for them not to bother me asking for more food until dinner time. So these Mini Empanadas are just the perfect answer!

mini chicken empanada01

I usually make the filling the day before and store it in the fridge ready to be used the next day. Sometimes I made double or even triple the recipes for the filling. I just love the chicken filling, as it is very versatile. You can fill a sandwich with it, make toasted sandwich, make the filling into balls and drop it in egg wash, crumbed, and fry them, make a filling for croquette or rissoles… Oh, the possibility are endless!

mini chicken empanada02

Here’s the recipe. I hope you enjoy it as much as my family do. If you have a new way to use the filling, please share it here. I would love to hear about it!

mini chicken empanada

Leave a Reply

